UPDATE: So I talked to them and not a scam. Just received an email from the Apple store confirming the order and saying the thing is on it's way. The 16gb version with no 3g (which I think means no monthly fee?). Gee thanks Parenting Group. Couldn't spring for the good model, huh? <j/k>
Psyched!
--------------
So I received the following email today:
I absolutely remember entering a contest at Babies R Us right around Father's day, where the prize was an iPad (I'm about 95% sure). Fill out a card, drop it in, forget about it.Hi! I just wanted to send a reminder to please confirm your address by 10/24/10 to redeem your iPad. Your prize will be void if we do not receive confirmation by 10/24/10.
Thank you.
Landrie Moore
Marketing Coordinator
The Parenting Group
2 Park Avenue, 10th Floor
New York, NY 10016
p 212.779.5122 f 212.770.5200
e landrie.moore@bonniercorp.com
theparentinggroupmediakit.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: Landrie Moore
Sent: Monday, October 11, 2010 2:52 PM
To: '[bliz]
Subject: Winner! Babytalk Father's Day Sweepstakes
Congratulations! You are the winner of the Babytalk Father’s Day Gift Sweepstakes! Please confirm your address by 10/24/10 so we can send you your iPad. Please note, if we do not receive confirmation of this email by 10/24/10, your prize will be void.
Landrie Moore
Marketing Coordinator
The Parenting Group
2 Park Avenue, 10th Floor
New York, NY 10016
p 212.779.5122 f 212.770.5200
e landrie.moore@bonniercorp.com
theparentinggroupmediakit.com
![]()
This group/magazine is legitimate. Using google to search shows parentinggroup to be associated with parenting.com and parenting magazine. Going through the normal search channels gets you to that parentinggroupmediakit.com webpage. The contact numbers on the webpage are all similar to hers, though she isn't listed. But I did find a press release about her being named the new marketing coordinator. http://ads.bonniercorp.com/newsbytes...010-07-13.html . I can't find anything online that would suggest this is a known scam.
All this sounds great. BUT, I never got the email in the chain below. Why would that be? If it was spam and I permanently deleted it without reading, why wouldn't it have gone to spam again? That's the only thing that gives me pause. If it is a scam, what can they do with just an address? Nothing, I think. Addresses are reasonably easy to get.
I really think this is legit. There's a solid explanation, the email looks legit, the group looks legit, but I can't get around the prior email question. Why didn't I get the prior email? I don't mean to be overly paranoid, but in this crazy world of "Nigerian princes" and, well, "free iPads" you just can't be too careful.
So....is this a scam or did I really win an iPad?
Was this thread necessary or was it just me subconsciously wanting to come in here and be like "Hey everybody, I just won a free iPad"




Reply With Quote